Law News
A’Ibom tribunal warns against frivolous applications

The Chairman, Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, Justice Goddy Anunihu, on Tuesday warned members of the tribunal that he will not put up with frivolous applications that may delay or derail the job assigned to them.

Anunihu, who said this while delivering his inaugural speech at the formal sitting of the tribunal, urged lawyers to work hard on their cases and be ready at all times to play their roles as officers of the court effectively.

He stated that the tribunal and lawyers, as members of the legal profession, have a duty to carry out with the highest degree of professionalism. According to him, this remains the only way to ensure that justice is done in all the matters before them.

“We are all aware that the petitions before us are billed to be heard and determined within a period of 180 days from the date of filing. Some weeks of the said 180 days are already off.

“We should, therefore, all be ready for serious work immediately the petitions become ripe for hearing. For the parties, their supporters and other spectators, I urge everybody to exhibit the highest degree of discipline.

“This sitting is intended to sensitise all persons who have interest in the petitions filed in respect of the governorship election in this state, which was conducted on the 11th of April, 2015. The existence of this tribunal will be its willingness to discharge the duties assigned to it effectively.

“We want to assure you that we are here to ensure that the petitions filed before this tribunal are heard and determined judicially and judiciously.

“It is apt at this point to remind us all that this tribunal is a court of law and can also invoke its powers to punish any punishable wrongful act from any quarters,” he said.

In their separate responses, the state Attorney-General, Uwemedimo Nwoko, and a Senior Advocate of Nigeria and Chairman, Nigeria Bar Association, Uyo chapter, Mfon Uyoh, welcomed the members of the tribunal to the state.

They assured them of full support to enable them discharge their duties honourably, with a view to arriving at justice on time.

Other members of the tribunal include Justice Raphael Ajuwa and Justice J.B Olowosegun.

Click here to read from source.