Nigeria News
Obanikoro, Wike, Maku, others resign, target gov tickets
The ministers who resigned their appointment

The ministers who resigned their appointment

President Goodluck Jonathan on Wednesday led other members of the Federal Executive Council to bid seven ministers who will be seeking elective positions in 2015 farewell.

Barring any last minute change of mind, the seven ministers will send their resignation letters to the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator Pius Anyim, latest by Monday, hence they will not attend the next FEC meeting.

The seven ministers, according to the President, are Mr. Labaran Maku (Information); Prof. Onyebuchi Chukwu (Health); Mr. Nyesom Wike (State, Education); Samuel Ortom (State, Industry, Trade and Investment); Senator Musiliu Obanikoro (State, Defence); Mr. Darius Ishaku (State, Niger Delta) and Chief Emeka Wogu (Labour).

They will be contesting the governorship elections in their various states.

The Minister of Power, Prof. Chinedu Nebo, thanked the seven ministers on behalf of the FEC and wish them the best in their future endeavours while Maku responded on behalf of the ministers who are exiting the cabinet.

Click here to read from source.