Law News
Lawmakers confirm 36 commissioners for Lagos

The Lagos State House of Assembly, yesterday, approved 36 commissioners designate  for the state.

The confirmation of the cabinet members took place during plenary of the Assembly,  preceded by the presentation of the report of the 15-man adhoc committee set up  two weeks ago to screen the nominees. The presentation was led by the Chairman of the committee, Hon. Wasiu Sanni Eshinlokun.

The only nominee who could not be screened originally because she was resident in the United Kingdom, Mrs Yetunde Onabule, was said to have rushed down to Lagos to beat  yesterday’s public hearing. She was also screened and approved.

In presenting the report, Eshinlokun revealed that all the nominees were invited by the committee and that they all submitted copies of their Curriculum Vitaes, CVs, and certificates, which were thoroughly verified by the committee.

According to him; ‘’All the nominees submitted required document and original certificates for sighting and asked pertinent questions on issues that pertain to the state and that  each of the nominees was endorsed by the lawmaker representing their constituencies, cleared by the committee and confirmed by the House. The lawmakers also took turns to commend the committee for the job.’’

The Speaker of the Assembly, Mr Mudashiru Obasa after voice votes on confirmation, directed the Clerk of the House, Mr Ganiyu Abiru, to convey the House confirmation of the commissioners designate to the governor  for appointments into the State Executive Council.

Governor Ambode on September 21, presented the names of intended cabinet members to the state House of Assembly for screening and approval.

The approved commissioners designate were Mr Gbolahan Lawal, Dr. Jide Idris, Mr Folarin Coker, Mr Seye Oladejo, Mr Ganiyu Johnson and Mr Babatunde Hunpe, Mrs Yetunde Onabule, Fela Bank-Olemoh, Mr Akinyemi Ashade, Mr Steve Ayorinde, Alhaja Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf, Mr Kehinde Joseph, Prof. Ademola Abass, Dr. Akintola Benson, Dr. Abdul-Hakeem Abdul-Lateef, Dr. Mohammed Akinkunmi, Dr. Babatunde Adejare,Dr. Femi Onanuga, Dr. Dayo Mobereola.

Others are: Mr Adebowale Akinsanya, Mr Wasiu Anifowoshe, Mrs. Lola Akande, Mr Agboola Dabiri, Mr Ganiu Okanlomo-Sanni, Mr Anofi Elegushi,Mr Rotimi Ogunleye, Mrs Adebimpe Akinsola, Mr Femi Odubiyi, Alhaji Musiliu Folami, Mr Adeniji Kazeem, Mr Adeyemi, Mr Labinjo Toyin-Suarau, Babatunde Durosinmi-Etti, Mr Deji Tinubu, Mrs. Mudirat Giwanson and Kehinde Bamigbetan.

Click here to read from source.