Law News
Law School 85 Class Honours Teacher, Mates

Members of the Nigerian Law School class of 1985 have disclosed plans to honour one of their teachers Oba David Olateru-Olagbegi, as part of the activities marking their reunion this year.

According to a statement made available to our correspondent, the 85 class had scheduled its reunion luncheon for Monday, August 21 and it will hold at Four Points by Sheraton, Victoria Island, Lagos on the sidelines of the 2017 edition of the Nigerian Bar Association Annual General Conference which is beginning on Friday, August 18.

The statement said Olateru-Olagbegi, a former Secretary to the Council of Legal Education, will be honoured alongside deserving members of the 1985 class – including the Chief Judge of Akwa Ibom State, Justice Godwin Abraham – who had distinguished themselves in various spheres of the legal profession.

Others listed to be honoured include five judicial officers, five Senior Advocates of Nigeria, a professor of Law, a traditional ruler and five top executives in the federal bureaucracy.

According to the Chairman of the 1985 set, Chief Emeka Ngige (SAN), the five judges to be honoured include Judge Adetokunbo Fasanya of the United States of America Family Court, State of New York;  Justice A. B. Mohammed and Justice Angela Otaluka, both of the High Court of Federal Capital Territory, Abuja and Justice Lateef Lawal-Akapo of the Lagos State High Court.

Among the Senior Advocates of Nigeria to be honoured are Chief Adewunmi Ogunsanya, who is the Chairman of Multi-Choice Nigeria; Mr. Elisha Kura, a Kaduna-based trial lawyer; Mr. James Ikeyi and Mr. Ayo Akintunde. The only scholar on the honours list is Prof. Jerry Agbo Madaki of the School of Law, Catholic University of East Africa, Nairobi, Kenya.

“Also to be honoured are a National Commissioner of teh Independent National Electoral Commission and former ThisDay Newspaper Lawyer Editor, Mrs. May Agbamuche-Mbu; the newly-appointed  Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, Hadiza Mustapha; the Executive Secretary of the Pension Transition Arrangements Directorate, Ms. Sharon Ikeazor; and Group Legal Adviser of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, Hajia Hadiza Coomassie.

“Also to be awarded are the General Counsel and Corporate Secretary of the Canadian National Insurance Crime Services, Ottawa Canada, Dr. Alexander Adeyinka; the Company Secretary, Capital Hotels Plc, owners of Abuja Sheraton Mr. Alex Ugwuanyi; and the Onogie of Ihieve-Ogben in the Owan East Local Government of Edo State, Chief Andrew Otokhina,” Ngige added.

The statement noted that the leader of the class, Prince Lateef Fagbemi (SAN), would be the chairman on the occasion.

“Ngige enjoined members of the class to turn out in their large numbers for the exquisite reunion dinner,” it stated.

Oladimeji Ramon
The Punch News

You must be logged in to post a comment.